Miguel Cabrera wins another batting crown

Published On: Sep 29 2013 08:38:56 PM EDT

AP Graphics

In 2012, Miguel Cabrera became the first player since 1967 to win the MLB's Triple Crown.


Miguel Cabrera finds another place in Major League Baseball's history books.

The Detroit Tigers third baseman becomes the first right-handed batter since the early 1920's to win three consecutive batting titles.

Cabrera finished the season with a .348 average. Joe Mauer of the Minnesota Twins came in second with a .324 average.

The last right-handed batter to win three titles in a row was the Saint Louis Cardinals Hall of Famer Rogers Hornsby. He won batting titles from 1920 until 1922.

Last year, Cabrera won baseball's triple crown leading the American League in batting average, home runs and runs batted in. This season he finished behind Baltimore's Chris Davis in home runs and RBI's.

While Cabrera's success is quite an accomplishment it pales in comparison to the hitting achievements of Tigers Hall of Famer Ty Cobb.

The man known as the Georgia Peach won 9 consecutive batting titles while wearing the Olde English D from 1907 to 1915.


The views expressed below are not those of Click On Detroit, WDIV, or its affiliated companies. By clicking on "Post," you acknowledge that you have read the Terms of Service and your comment is in compliance with such terms. Readers, please help keep this discussion respectful and on topic by flagging comments that are offensive or inappropriate (hover over the commenter's name and you'll see the flag option appear on right side of that line). And remember, respect goes both ways: Tolerance of others' opinions is important in a free discourse. If you're easily offended by strong opinions, you might skip reading comments entirely.

blog comments powered by Disqus