Who are the Detroit Tigers?

Published On: Oct 17 2012 11:05:16 AM EDT   Updated On: Sep 29 2014 01:25:45 PM EDT


The Detroit Tigers are the oldest continuous one-name, one-city franchise in the American League. They were founded in 1894 and have won four World Series championships and been AL Pennant winners 10 times.


1935 World Series -- Chicago Cubs (W 4-2)

1945 World Series -- Chicago Cubs (W 4-3)

1968 World Series -- St. Louis Cardinals (W 4-3)

1984 World Series -- San Diego Padres (W 4-1)


They played first in 1901 at Bennett Park at the Corner of Michigan Avenue and Trumbull Avenue until 1912 – when it became Navin Field. In 1938, the field was expanded and renamed Briggs Stadium. The stadium underwent another name change to Tiger Stadium in 1961.

In 2000, the team moved to the new Comerica Park.

The team is owned by Mike Ilitch and managed by Jim Leyland.  Dave Dombrowski is the president and general manager.

A complete historical summary can be downloaded here.


The views expressed below are not those of Click On Detroit, WDIV, or its affiliated companies. By clicking on "Post," you acknowledge that you have read the Terms of Service and your comment is in compliance with such terms. Readers, please help keep this discussion respectful and on topic by flagging comments that are offensive or inappropriate (hover over the commenter's name and you'll see the flag option appear on right side of that line). And remember, respect goes both ways: Tolerance of others' opinions is important in a free discourse. If you're easily offended by strong opinions, you might skip reading comments entirely.

blog comments powered by Disqus